Skip to content

Removing or Changing Custom Domain

What happens when you remove or change your custom domain.


Custom domains are managed from your Site Preferences.

When you remove a custom domain — either manually, by canceling your subscription, or by removing your account — any URLs associated with that domain will display a 404 error (Page Not Found) until the domain is no longer pointed at Exposure.

Removing a custom domain will break any existing links shared on the internet unless you manually set up forwarding through your domain registrar.


Changing your custom domain has the same effect as removing it for any links already shared. Previously shared links using the old domain will display a 404 error unless you set up forwarding outside of Exposure.

Exposure can only connect one custom domain at a time.


Keeping Your Account Without a Custom Domain

Section titled “Keeping Your Account Without a Custom Domain”

If you simply wish to stop using a custom domain, your Exposure URL (username.exposure.co) will still be accessible when sharing your site and stories.


If you have questions, reach out to us at support@exposure.co. We’re happy to help!


Use the Exposure contact form.